Scientific committee

Tom Øresland, Norway

Medical degreee from Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm. Basic surgical training in Karlskrona. From 1981 at the Colorectal Unit, Sahlgrenska University Hospital, Göteborg. Associate Professor of Surgery 1991. Has been Secretary for the Swedish organisation for the study of IBD, chairman Swedish Gastroenterologcal Society and Swedish delegate in the European Crohn and Colitis organisation (ECCO). Elected member of IOIBD (Int Org for the study of IBD). 2007 full Professor in GI surgery at the University of Oslo and in a period head Campus Ahus, Faculty of Medicine at Akershus University Hospital. Main interest in IBD and colorectal functional problems. Published mainly in pouch surgery and related problems. Now professor emeritus and research integrity ombud at the medical faculty and the university hospitals in Oslo.

Jonas Halfvarson, Sweden

Jonas Halfvarson is a consultant Gastroenterologist at Örebro University hospital and Professor of Gastroenterology at Örebro University, Sweden. Prof Halfvarson graduated as MD at the University of Uppsala, Sweden, before training in gastroenterology at Örebro University Hospital. He undertook research with Professor Gunnar Järnerot and obtained his PhD, entitled ‘Inflammatory bowel disease in twins; Studies of genetics and environmental factors’ in 2004. Part of his PhD was done at the University of Oxford, UK with Professor Derek Jewell. He has contributed to numerous impactful clinical studies across multiple facets of IBD, and has over 200 peer-reviewed publications. His current research focuses on biomarkers in IBD, from both a clinical and mechanistic perspective.

Prof Halfvarson was named a Rising Star in Gastroenterology at the United European Gastroenterology Week (UEGW) in 2011. Currently, he heads the taskforce for genetics and pathophysiology at the Swedish Organisation for the Study of Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (SOIBD), serves as the Scientific Director of the Swedish national quality registry for IBD (SWIBREG) and as a board member of the International Organization for the Study of Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IOIBD).

Lóa Davíðsdóttir, Iceland

Lóa Guðrún Davíðsdóttir is a consultant Gastroenterologist at Landspitali University Hospital in Iceland. She graduated as MD at the University of Iceland in 1999 and specialized in Internal Medicine in 2009 and in Gastroenterology and Hepatology in 2010 at Karolinska University Hospital. She undertook research with Professor Rolf Hultcrants and obtained her PhD degree in 2016 at the Karolinska Institutet. She served as a secretary for the Icelandic Society of Gastroenterology 2018-2020. She is the Chairman of the steering committee of the Icelandic Quality Registry for inflammatory bowel disease (ICE IBD). Her main interests are IBD and related problems. 

Michael Eberhardson, Sweden

Michael Eberhardson has a Medical Degree (MD) and a PhD (in Medical Cell Biology) from Uppsala University and is Associate Professor in Gastroenterology at Karolinska Institutet. He is a consultant in Gastroenterology with focus on IBD and medical lead of the Gastro Research Unit at Danderyd Hospital. He also serves part time at the Department of Clinical Immunology, Karolinska University Hospital. Dr Eberhardson has a special interest in immunological monitoring of IBD. He is a member of the board of the Swedish Organisation for the Study of IBD (SOIBD) and a member of the steering committee of the National Quality Registry for Inflammatory Bowel Disease (SWIBREG). He is elected national representative of the European Crohn’s and Colitis Organisation (ECCO).

Susanna Jäghult, Sweden

Susanna Jäghult is the head of the Endoscopic Unit at Södersjukhuset in Stockholm. She has been working for many years with IBD both in the clinical and academic world. She has a PhD and her research is mainly concerning IBD and stress, fatigue, HRQOL. Susanna has been the chair of N-ECCO (Nurses of ECCO) and is now part of the E-learning Taskforce of ECCO. She is in the steering group for SWIBREG and is a member of SOIBD (The Swedish Organisation for the study of IBD). She was one of the founders of the Swedish Nurse Association (Föreningen för sjuksköterskor inom gastroenterologi i Sverige- FSGS) and was the chair for many years.

Ebbe Langholz, Denmark

Ebbe Langholz MD, DMSCi.
Medical degree from University of Copenhagen 1985,basic medical training at different hospitals in the Copenhagen region.
1996 to 2017 at Gentofte Hospital and presently at Gastroenheden Herlev Hospital.
Former chairman of DCCD (the Danish Crohn´s and colitis database),
Chairman of EPICOM, the epidemiological committee of ECCO since 2015 and appointed member of the Steering Committee of URCARE in 2016.
Main interest in IBD and related problems.
Has published mainly on the epidemiology of IBD.

Pauliina Molander, Finland

Dr Pauliina Molander works as head chief specialist at Helsinki University Hospital, Finland. She graduated as MD at Turku University in 1997 and specialized in Internal Medicine in 2003 and Gastroenterology in 2008 at Helsinki University Hospital. She obtained her PhD in 2015. Her main research interest in IBD are treatment outcomes and biomarkers.
She was a national representative in European Crohn’s and Colitis Organization (ECCO) 2015-2018 and served as a board member and secretary of the Finnish Society of Gastroenterology 2013-2016 and President of the IBD section of the Finnish Society of Gastroenterology 2016-2021.

Bjørn Moum, Norway

Bjørn Moum had his Medical degree (MD) in 1981 from the University of Århus,
Denmark. He trained in Internal Medicine and Gastroenterology in Hospital Østfold and Rikshospitalet and was board certified in 1991. From 1990 he combined his clinical consultant job with a doctoral program and was in 1997 appointed as Dr Med. This work included clinical epidemiology in inflammatory bowel disease in the IBSEN study and he has been centrally involved in a European study on IBD, EC-IBD2K. He was appointed as Professor of Medicine and Gastroenterology at Oslo University Hospital in 2006 and he is today Prof emeritus at University of Oslo and Senior research consultant at Østfold Hospital Trust. His scientific work has resulted in author or co-authorship on more than 250 peer-reviewed papers and he has been scientific advisor for 17 PhD candidates. Bjørn Moum has been President in the Norwegian Gastroenterology Association 2004-2009 and a Board member for 12 years. He is a personal elected member of the International Organisation for IBD (IOIBD) and has been National Representative Member of the The European Crohn’s and Colitis Organisation (ECCO).

Gabriele Wurm Johansson, Sweden

Gabriele Wurm Johansson, MD, PhD.
Current position: Senior consultant, Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Endoscopy Unit, Skane University Hospital Malmö.
Current Administrative Duties: President of the Swedish Society of Gastroenterology (SGF), Expert for Bengt Ihre research fund, Expert for Gastroenterological research fund.
eferee for the Following Journals: Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Journal of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Läkartidningen.